Board of Directors Board Meeting Minutes



JULY 2, 2024

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

Ms. Margaret Borgen, board president, called the meeting of the Heartland AEA Board of Directors to order at 8:00 a.m.

Board members present: Ms. Margaret Borgen, Ms. Liz Brennan, Mr. John Kinley, Ms. Tiara Mays-Sims, Dr. Steve Rose, and Ms. Margie Schwenk. Mr. Pete Evans joined immediately following roll call. Absent: Mr. Alex Piedras and Ms. Kelly Simmons.

Administrative Staff Present: Mr. Kevin Fangman, Dr. Susie Meade, Ms. Jenny Ugolini, Dr. Kristi Upah and Dr. Cindy Yelick.

Approval of Agenda

A MOTION was made by Mr. Kinley and seconded by Dr. Rose to approve the agenda. The motion passed unanimously.

Discussion Items

Human Resources: Personnel Report

Dr. Cindy Yelick, Heartland AEA Chief Administrator, reviewed the personnel report. She noted job title changes for specific staff members, a new hire, resignations, a retirement and a severance package agreement.

Amendment to Purchase and Sale Agreement

Dr. Yelick noted the amendment to the purchase and sale agreement. In the agreement approved by the board on May 30th, the buyer has a 60 day due diligence period. Within that 60 day period, they have 30 days to assign or sublease their current office space. This amendment provides the buyer the full 60 days to satisfy that contingency, i.e., until Monday, July 29, 2024.

Action Item

Human Resources: Personnel Report

A MOTION was made by Ms. Brennan and seconded by Dr. Rose to approve the amendment to the purchase agreement. The motion passed unanimously.

Amendment to Purchase and Sale Agreement

A MOTION was made by Dr. Rose and seconded by Ms. Schwenk to approve the personnel report. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:40 a.m.

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions or policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's office, (515) 473-6644, Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Ms. Margaret Borgen Board President

Board Secretary