

Heartland Area Education Agency Director District Convention Agenda Monday, January 20, 2025

Time: 4:00 p.m.

Location: Heartland AEA, 6500 Corporate Drive, Johnston, IA

Conference Room 109

Or electronic/Zoom option: https://heartlandaea.zoom.us/j/94542101686

By telephone: Dial 1-646-558-8656

Meeting ID: 945 4210 1686

Heartland AEA

Cindy Yelick	Ms. Jenny Ugolini
Chief Administrator	Board Secretary

Participants: Director District 1

Baxter CSD Representative	Bondurant-Farrar CSD Representative	Colfax-Mingo CSD Representative	Collins-Maxwell CSD Representative	Lynnville-Sully CSD Representative
Madrid CSD Representative	Newton CSD Representative	North Polk CSD Representative	PCM CSD Representative	Southeast Polk CSD Representative

Facilitator: Cindy Yelick Recorder: Ms. Jenny Ugolini, Board Secretary

Time	Topic/Process	Presenter/ Staff Resource	Outcome
5 min.	1.01 Call to Order	Cindy Yelick	Convene convention
	1.02 Roll Call	Jenny Ugolini	Record attendance of districts present
2 min.	1.03 Requirements of Eligibility for Candidate	Cindy Yelick	 A candidate for Heartland Board of Directors: Shall be an elector and a resident of the director district May be a member of a local school district board of education May be an employee of an area community college Shall not be a school district employee Shall not be a member of the governing board of a merged area (community college board)
1 min.	1.04 Presentation of list of Candidate	Jenny Ugolini	 Announce candidates Mary Poulter, resides in Colfax-Mingo CSD Heather Sievers, resides in SE Polk CSD
1 min.	1.05 Nominations from Floor	Cindy Yelick	Receive any nominations from the floor
2 min.	1.06 Review Voting Procedures	Cindy Yelick	 Each school district casts one ballot, the ballot states the delegate is authorized by his/her Board to vote (Resolution of Certification) Votes are weighted based on population (as of 2020 US Census).
3-5 min.	1.07 Casting of Votes	Cindy Yelick	Votes will be taken by verbal roll call and written ballots (to be sent electronically if not present)

			Secretary will collect written ballots and Resolution of Certification, which authorizes the delegate to vote at the Director District Convention
5 min.	1.08 Computation and Canvass of Voting	Jenny Ugolini	Votes are counted
1 min.	1.09 Declaration of Winner	Cindy Yelick	Winner is announced
1 min.	1.10 Adjournment		Meeting is adjourned

District 1:

District	Population	Weighted Vote		
Baxter	1,880	1.8%		
Bondurant-Farrar	9,898	9.6%		
Colfax-Mingo	4,554	4.4%		
Collins-Maxwell	2,811	2.7%		
Lynnville-Sully	2,857	2.8%		
Madrid	3,855	3.7%		
Newton	21,843	21.2%		
North Polk	9,007	8.7%		
PCM	5,916	5.7%		
Southeast Polk	40,361	39.2%		
Total	102,982	100%		